Vehicle Registration Guide for Florida
In Forida, the law requires that the motor vehicle should be registered before being used and this applies to both new and second-hand vehicles. In addition, new residents who have registered their vehicles outside the state must also register them in Florida. The first vehicle registration must be made in person, while the others afterwards may be done in person, by phone or online.
First Vehicle Registration
Vehicle owners that register their vehicles for the first time should do the following:
- Fill in a registration form
- Visit their local county tax collector’s office and present the completed registration form along with the vehicle safety inspection certification. They should also present a proof of insurance as well as odometer reading if their vehicle is less than 10 years old.
- Owners of vehicles registered outside of Florida should bring the original registration document along with proof of sales tax payment
- Vehicle owners should also provide a Vehicle Identification Number for vehicles not registered in Florida.
- The vehicle may be registered for 1 to 24 months along with a three-month advance registration.
There are two types of fees that vehicle owners must pay at the first vehicle registration: