DMV-Florida.org offers FREE auto insurance quotes from multiple providers

Suspended License and Reinstatement Information

There are several reasons why a person may get his driver license suspended. Some of them refer directly to violating the driver rules, while others are related to breaking other State laws. Here are some of the most common reasons why a driver license may be revoked:

There are several reasons why a person may get his driver license suspended. Some of them refer directly to violating the driver rules, while others are related to breaking other State laws. Here are some of the most common reasons why a driver license may be revoked:

  • Driving Under Influence (DUI). Your driver license will be immediately suspended if you are caught driving under influence of alcohol or drugs. The suspension length greatly depends on the severity of the violations and the number of repeated offenses that the driver has made.

  • Excessive moving violations. The state of Florida functions on the principle of the point system in which drivers gain points for every violation they have committed. If the driver crosses the limit of 12 or more points on their driver records, their license will be suspended. For 12 points in a year, the driver receives a 30-day suspension. 18 points lead to 3-month suspension and 24 points in a period of 3 years leads to a year of suspension.

  • Driving with suspended license or no license whatsoever. Driving with a suspended license will only increase your suspension and might even lead you to 5-year imprisonment. Also, you might get your license suspended if you don't have your driver license with you. Therefore, make sure that you always carry your license in your car.

  • Providing false information. Your driver license will be immediately revoked if you give false information when applying for a driver license.

  • Driving without insurance. The State law of Florida requires all motor vehicles to be insured. If you do not present a valid auto insurance, your driver license will be also suspended.

  • Other violations related to driving. Your driver license will be suspended if you are considered to be a reckless driver or cause a car accident.

  • Failing to pay a traffic ticket. If you fail to respond to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles or fail to pay a traffic ticket on time, your driver license will be revoked.

What to do When Your Driver License is Suspended

If your driver license is suspended, you must follow the law's procedures in order to have your license reinstated. A small note for all drivers with a suspended driver licenses:

  • If your license has not been taken away from you immediately after the violation, you are obliged to yield it to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You can do this either by visiting the Driver License Office or mail it to the following address:

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles

Neil Kirkman Building

2900 Apalachee Parkway

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0500

  • During the period of your driver license suspension, you are not allowed to drive. If you have a suspended license and yet you drive, you may be charged with up to 5 years of imprisonment or increase the length of your suspension.

  • After the end of your suspension, you will receive a written notice informing you about the possibilities and instructions on how to restore your driver license. Until you receive a valid replacement of your driver license, you are not allowed to drive.

Driver License Restoration

After the end of your suspension period, you will receive a written notice from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles with precise instructions on how to restore your license. This is what you need:

  • You are obliged to pay a $47.50 fee which can be paid at the Driver License Office.

  • Restoring your license is actually applying for a license renewal.

  • If you have any unanswered questions, you can read some of the information on the DHS and MV website.

Finally, you should also be aware that after you restore your driver license, you will be under a Mandatory Probation Period of one year during which you must act as conscious driver. Otherwise, any new violation might cause additional suspension.